Link to homepage

Stronger communities

Stronger communities is our programme to support communities to play a greater role in the delivery of services in the county.

Introduction to Stronger Communities

County Councillor David Chance, Executive Member, introduces our Stronger Communities programme in the video below.

The stronger communities team supports communities to help themselves and create local solutions for service provision at a time of significant financial challenge for the authority.

Working with local residents, community groups and other partners from the public and private sectors across North Yorkshire, the stronger communities team will identify opportunities to co-produce a range of local support and services aimed at improving the well-being of people of all ages.

Initial priorities for the programme include:

  • libraries;
  • services for children and young people;
  • community transport; and
  • services for older people or vulnerable adults.

Stronger communities annual report 2015-16

Download the stronger communities annual report 2015-16 below. Full and summary versions are available:

Grant funding

As part of the package of support available from the stronger communities programme, a grant fund has been established for community and voluntary groups to access, in collaboration with the relevant locality based stronger communities delivery manager. Grants of three levels are available (up to a maximum of £15,000).

This is not an open grants fund; any potential funding application must be discussed with your local delivery manager prior to submission.

Please see our interactive map below detailing all the grants awarded as well as some information about the projects that have been supported.

Further information

If you would like further information about the programme, please contact your local stronger communities delivery manager using the details below.

Head of stronger communities (for county-wide projects) - Marie-Ann Jackson
Tel: 01609 532925
Email: marie-ann.jackson@northyorks.gov.uk

Stronger communities delivery manager (Craven) - Marion Tweed-Rycroft
Tel: 01609 532236
Email: marion.tweed-rycroft@northyorks.gov.uk

Stronge communities delivery manager (Hambleton) - Adele Wilson-Hope
Tel: 01609 532223
Email: adele.wilson-hope@northyorks.gov.uk

Stronger communities delivery manager (Harrogate and District) - Liz Meade
Tel: 01609 798930
Email: liz.meade@northyorks.gov.uk

Stronger communities delivery manager (Richmondshire) - Gillian Wall
Tel: 01609 533579
Email: gillian.wall@northyorks.gov.uk

Stronger communities delivery manager (Ryedale) - Sarah Robinson
Tel: 01609 532265
Email: sarah.robinson@northyorks.gov.uk

Stronger communities delivery manager (Scarborough and District) - Karen Atkinson
Tel: 01609 534061
Email: karen.atkinson@northyorks.gov.uk

Stronger communities delivery manager (Selby and District) - Tom Jenkinson
Tel: 01609 533808
Email: tom.jenkinson@northyorks.gov.uk